building SwissConceptHouse    
Ostrini   swiss house  

Kyoto protocol


In 1997, in Kyoto, Japan, more than 160 nations met to negotiate binding limitations on greenhouse gases for the developed nations, pursuant to the objectives of the Framework Convention on Climate Change of 1992. The meeting took place from January 1st until January 11th. The outcome of the meeting was the Kyoto Protocol, in which the developed nations agreed to limit their greenhouse gas emissions, relative to the levels emitted in 1990.

At the time Australia did sign the protocol.

The United Nation ENVIRONMENT Program says:
“The Kyoto Protocol is an agreement under which industrialized countries will reduce their collective emissions of greenhouse gases by 5.2% compared to the year 1990 (but note that, compared to the emissions levels that would be expected by 2010 without the Protocol, this limitation represents a 29% cut).

The goal is to lower overall emissions of six greenhouse gases 1) carbon dioxide, 2) methane, 3) nitrous oxide, 4) sulphur hexafluoride,5) hydro fluorocarbons, and 6) per fluorocarbons - averaged over the period of 2008-2012.”

In June 1992, Mexico and more than 150 other countries signed the U.N. Framework Convention on Climate Change (FCCC, or Framework Convention) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
To ratify the Kyoto Protocol, a country must sign the treaty and make it part of its domestic law.

On 3rd December 2007, the Prime Minister signed the instrument of ratification of the Kyoto Protocol, and on 11th March 2008 Australia's ratification came into effect.

Australia has committed to meeting its Kyoto Protocol target, and has set it to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 60 per cent on 2000 levels by 2050.
The Protocol recognises that developed countries have a responsibility to take the lead in international action because they are responsible for most of the world's past emissions. Each developed country's target was negotiated and agreed internationally. Australia's annual target is 108% of our 1990 emissions.

Source: department of climate change, Australian government


Advertising Design Service